• Perth Airports Municipalities Group Inc.

About Us

Back in 1981/82, a group of nine local governments formed a coalition as a result of community issues surrounding the redevelopment of Perth Airport. With the success of that coalition, the nine local governments determined in January 1983 to formally establish as the Perth Airports Municipalities Group. The Perth Airports Municipalities Group Inc (PAMG) is a not-for-profit association now comprising of thirteen local governments members.

The Group meets on a quarterly basis with stakeholders such as the operators of Perth Airport,  Jandakot Airport, representatives from Airservices Australia and the Department of Infrastructure and Regional Development & Cities to discuss matters which either directly or indirectly impact on the community such as aircraft noise, flight paths, off-airport development, on-airport development etc.

Our current Members and their delegates are:

City of Armadale

Cr Shanavas Peter (Delegate), Cr John Keogh (Deputy Delegate)

Town of Bassendean

Cr Paul Poliwka (Delegate), Cr Emily Wilding (Deputy Delegate)

City of Bayswater

Cr Filomena Piffaretti (Delegate / Deputy Chair), Cr Michelle Sutherland (Deputy Delegate)

City of Belmont

Cr Phil Marks (Delegate / Chair), Cr Robert Rossi (Deputy Delegate),
Mr John Christie (Treasurer), Ms Helen Mark (Secretariat)

City of Canning

Cr Sara Saberi (Delegate), Cr Jesse Jacobs (Deputy Delegate)

City of Cockburn


City of Gosnells


City of Kalamunda

Cr Mary Cannon (Delegate), Cr Dylan O’Connor (Deputy Delegate)

City of Melville

Cr Clive Ross (Delegate), Cr Nicole Robins (Deputy Delegate)

Shire of Mundaring

Cr Luke Ellerty (Delegate / Management Committee Member), Cr Jo Cicchini (Deputy Delegate)

City of South Perth

Mr Mike Bradford (Delegate)

City of Swan

Cr Ian Johnson (Delegate), Cr Andrew Kiely (Deputy Delegate)

Town of Victoria Park

Cr Wilfred Hendriks (Delegate), Cr Vicky Potter (Delegate) Cr Karen Vernon (Deputy Delegate 2)


The objects of the PAMG are :

(a) To provide a forum of meaningful discussion on issues which affect Metropolitan Airports and their environs;

(b) To investigate, report and formulate recommendations in respect of matters affecting or likely to affect the development of Metropolitan Airports;

(c) To monitor the use and environmental impact of Metropolitan Airports on neighbouring communities;

(d) To advise relevant State and Federal ministers, State and Commonwealth government departments, Airport Noise Management Committees, Community Aviation Consultative Committees and the Owner/s of Perth and Jandakot airports on issues of major concern affecting airports and the surrounding communities;

(e) To establish and maintain a strong partnering relationship with the Owner/s of Perth and Jandakot airports for the purpose of open and effective dialogue to identify, discuss, advise, research and seek proactive resolutions to issues affecting the airports and the immediate local community;

(f) To provide a conduit and consultation mechanism for the expression of community views and a proper exchange of information with members of the community;

(g) To consider all proposals affecting airport development and operations before policy decisions are made and before changes are effected in relevant legislation and regulations;

(h) To liaise with the airport emergency procedures committees where necessary on matters involving emergency co-ordination and rescue response;

(i) To pursue active participation on Australian Mayoral Aviation Council (AMAC) and such other bodies that may come into existence for the purpose of fostering participation in the development, use and monitoring the impact of airports;

(j) To promote the economic benefits of civil aviation airports; and

(k) To liaise with local government on issues of concern to the community, and to provide a forum for discussion of planning and development issues affecting future communities close to the major municipal airports.

  • armadale council bayswater council belmont council cockburn council gosnells council
  • melville council south perth council swan districts council kalamunda council mundaring council
  • bassendean council canning council victoria park council mundaring council